• Simply Red - Stay 740155804336


Article name: Stay
Genre: Pop/Rock
Product type: CD+DVD
Label: Edsel
Number of tracks: 37

Tracklist CD - 1

1. Simply Red - World and You Tonight
2. Simply Red - So Not Over You
3. Simply Red - Stay
4. Simply Red - They Don't Know
5. Simply Red - Oh! What a Girl!
6. Simply Red - Good Times Have Done Me Wrong
7. Simply Red - Debris
8. Simply Red - Lady
9. Simply Red - Money TV
10. Simply Red - Death of the Cool
11. Simply Red - Little Englander
12. Simply Red - Oh! What a Girl! [Radio Edit]
13. Simply Red - Stay [Radio Mix]
14. Simply Red - So Not Over You [Single Version]
15. Simply Red - Go Now [Single Version]
16. Simply Red - Stay [7th Heaven Radio Edit]
17. Simply Red - So Not Over You [Johnny Douglas Radio Mix]

Tracklist DVD - 2

18. Simply Red - Go Now [Trance Vocal Remix]
19. Simply Red - Oh! What a Girl! [Sweet Connection Club Mix]
20. Simply Red - Stay [7th Heaven Vocal Mix]
21. Simply Red - Go Now [Triple Dee Club Remix]
22. Simply Red - Oh! What a Girl! [Tom Belton Vocal Mix]
23. Simply Red - So Not Over You [Motivo Pop-Lectro Remix]
24. Simply Red - Stay [Grant Nelson Club Mix]
25. Simply Red - Go Now [Alex B Very Vocal Remix]
26. Simply Red - Beside You
27. Simply Red - Oh! What a Girl!
28. Simply Red - Debris [Sirius Radio Session]
29. Simply Red - Stay [Sirius Radio Session]
30. Simply Red - So Not Over You [Sirius Radio Session]

Tracklist DVD - 3

31. Simply Red - Interview
32. Simply Red - Oh! What a Girl! [Promo Video]
33. Simply Red - So Not Over You [Promo Video]
34. Simply Red - Stay
35. Simply Red - So Not Over You
36. Simply Red - Oh! What a Girl! [Live on Later... With Jools Holland]
37. Simply Red - They Don't Know [Live on Later... With Jools Holland]


Description Given his long history of smooth, classy blue-eyed soul, it's easy to forget that Mick Hucknall was inspired to make music by the Sex Pistols. While it's true that Hucknall's Simply Red has never, ever sounded like the Pistols -- or any punk for that matter -- there is an obstinate independent streak that runs throughout his music that's led him to such strange detours as Love and the Russian Winter, as well as his position as an independent artist in the new millennium, releasing Simply Red albums via his own label, Simplyred.com. That independent spirit also surfaces on some of the songs on 2007's Stay, his third release on Simplyred.com, but it's subtle and buried toward the end of the album. For the first half of Stay, Hucknall remains in his trademark upscale blue-eyed soul territory, sounding smooth and stylish whether he's singing ballads or snappier songs like the effervescent "Oh! What a Girl!" Although this sounds familiar, it sounds fresher than it has in a few years: Hucknall isn't trying to compete with such modern U.K. retro-soul phenoms as Amy Winehouse or Joss Stone, but he's looser and lighter than he was on 2003's Home, which is quite welcome. Just as the vibe feels just a bit too comfortable, Stay takes a couple of sly left turns. First, there's a quite wonderful and unexpected cover of Ronnie Lane's "Debris" that's understated and a bit rougher than the norm from Simply Red. After this, the album opens up a bit. There's one more standard soul song in "Lady," but it's a stronger, tighter, sexier single than much of the rest of the record, and then there comes a trio of angry, social comments that offer strong reminders of Hucknall's past as a punk. Not that they sound punk -- apart from the school children's choir that sings along on the closer, "Little Englander," they're recognizably Simply Red -- but with "Money TV" and "The Death of the Cool," he strikes out at the commercialization of culture. Now, some could argue that swaddling these sentiments in such smooth soul undercuts their power, but there's a palpable anger to Hucknall's message and a sly subversiveness in his method that makes this half of Stay interesting -- and when combined with the solid soul of the first half, it adds up to one of his strongest latter-day records. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine Stephen Thomas Erlewine


  • Artist: Simply Red
  • Record Label: Edsel

Write a review

Note: HTML is not translated!
    Bad           Good

Simply Red - Stay 740155804336

  • Product Code:
  • Availability: In Stock
  • $8.39

  • Ex Tax: $8.39